Workaholic?

Work is my comfort zone.

There is no better feeling then when I am in the fabrication shop doing something.

Whether I’m fabricating ductwork, walking around making sure things are in order or working in my office, I just feel at peace when something regarding work is involved. I’m sitting at my desk in the shop right now typing this post on a Friday at 7pm.

Am I a workaholic?

I don’t think so, but that probably means I am. We have turned a corner in the business and want to grow faster, which means there is so much more to do. When a company is only 5 people, there are many hats to be worn and the clock is ticking.

I will be 40 next year and I suddenly feel the pressures of time. I am young, but want to enjoy later life the best I can, so that means I have to hustle like a Silicon Valley startup.

The only way to accomplish this, in my mind anyway, is to make up for the lost time in my 20’s and work my ass off in my 40’s. I’m cool with that.

When I was younger, working for my dad, I would work 14 to 15 hour days easy, usually 7 days a week. I would fabricate ductwork in the early morning and install during the day. If something needed to be built for a customer or our own jobs in the evening, then I would work till the job was finished. Sometimes it felt like I never left the garage or the job site.

My family has always worked hard. It took me a few years to get on-board after failing out of college one year in, but I fell into line soon after. I didn’t realize then the work load and what actually needed to be accomplished — something for another post — but I realized that getting the job done and done right was key.

There was no time to take a break. Shit needed to get done and done quickly because bills had to be paid. It didn’t take long for me to grasp the concept that when you have skin in the game, there are pressures. You begin to understand that the business is not just supporting you and your immature buying habits. There are others involved and at risk. It’s not just about getting a paycheck and partying it away.

Maybe I’ve always been a workaholic?

I wish I could have caught the bug when I was still in college!

Anyway, so what if I am. Work is fun for me. Working hard is what I’ve done for the last 20 years and I don’t see it changing much anytime soon.

I am blue collar born and bred. Although, these days I like to think my collar is more a lighter shade of blue.

The white collar thing is starting to consume me.

Leave a Reply

